Loading images...

from Ferden

through all stages of vegetation from the valley to the mountains

DSCN0304Who is not afraid of long and steep ascents will be rewarded with a hike through all stages of vegetation. The starting point of this route is Ferden. Opposite from Restaurant Ambord the hiking path is starting. He takes you past the sun-browned wooden houses and branches a few meters after the village turning right. Now the trail climbs steadily through the forest, just reached the carriage road of Kummenalp and branches to the right again. After a few switchbacks you get to “Eistli” (1728 m above sea level. M.), a collection of a few stables, after one hour.

Following the signs, the route again leads through dense forest, but soon this goes on in brighter forest and scrubland. Later it follows the course of Färdanbache on the left, crosses it and after about 2 h, the restaurant Kummenalp can be reached. Here dominates the typical alpine scenery, cows and sheep share in midsummer the juicy grass.

From the parking space on the Kummenalp the way now branches off to the north, passes by the fountain and right of the mountain huts. Caution: Never pass between the alpine huts, otherwise you mistakenly reaches the road to Ferdenpass! Now, the route for one hour upwards over the Alps and pasture land. The well-maintained hiking trail goes along to “Meieli” (2415 m above sea level. M.), a prominent rock head on your left. Then follow about 300 meters relatively flat an old water line and cross the stream. Now a further growing stage is reached, flowers and grasses are less, rock and scree determine from now on the landscape. In many sweeping the remaining 300 meters are to be overcome then. With a little luck you can watch ibex here. The first large stone man becomes visible and shortly thereafter you reach a breathtaking alpine lake, from which you finally see the hut.


© 2014  ·  The Loetschenpass Hut  ·  3918 Wiler  ·  Phone: +41(0)27 939 19 81  ·  info@loetschenpass.ch  ·  Journey

Loading images...

ab Ferden

durch alle Vegetationsstufen vom Talboden ins Hochgebirge

DSCN0304Wer lange und steile Aufstiege nicht scheut, wird mit einer Wanderung durch alle Vegetationsstufen belohnt. Ausgangspunkt dieser Route ist Ferden. Vis-à-vis vom Restaurant Ambord beginnt der Wanderweg, führt an den sonnengebräunten Holzhäusern vorbei und zweigt einige Meter nach dem Dorf rechts ab. Nun steigt der Weg durch den Wald stetig an, erreicht kurz die Fahrstrasse der Kummenalp und zweigt wieder rechts ab. Nach einigen Serpentinen kommt man nach einer Stunde zum “Eistli” (1728 m ü. M.), einer Ansammlung von wenigen Ställen.

Dem Wegweiser folgend führt die Route noch einmal durch dichten Wald, bald geht dieser jedoch in lichteren Wald und Buschwerk über. Später folgt man dem Lauf des Färdanbaches auf der linken Seite, überquert diesen und erreicht nach ca. 2 h das Restaurant Kummenalp. Hier herrscht die typische Alplandschaft vor, Kühe und Schafe teilen sich im Hochsommer das saftige Gras.

Beim Parkplatz auf der Kummenalp zweigt der Weg nun Richtung Norden ab, am Brunnen und rechts der Alphütten vorbei. Achtung: keinesfalls zwischen den Alphütten passieren, sonst erreicht man fälschlicherweise den Weg zum Ferdenpass! Jetzt führt die Strecke während einer Stunde aufwärts über Alp- und Weidelandschaft dem gut unterhaltenen Wanderweg entlang bis zum “Meieli” (2415 m ü. M.), einem markanten Felskopf links vom Weg. Danach folgt man etwa 300m Meter relativ flach einer alten Wasserleitung und überquert den Bach. Nun ist eine weitere Vegetationsstufe erreicht, Blumen und Gräser werden weniger, Fels und Geröll bestimmen von jetzt an das Landschaftsbild. In vielen Kehren werden anschliessend die restlichen 300 Höhenmeter überwunden. Mit ein bisschen Glück lassen sich hier Steinböcke beobachten. Der erste grosse Steinmann wird sichtbar und kurz darauf erreicht man einen wunderbaren Bergsee, von dem aus man nun endlich die Hütte sieht.

Karte_Ferden_Lötschenpass

© 2013  ·  Lötschenpass Hütte  ·  3918 Wiler  ·  Telefon: +41(0)27 939 19 81  ·  info@loetschenpass.ch  ·  Anreise